The Devil’s Work by Mark Edwards

Book Title: The Devil’s Work
Author: Mark Edwards
Pages: 376

Genres: Thriller, Psychological Thriller, Suspense
Publisher: Thomas & Mercer

Date Read: 01/09/2016
Release Date: 13/09/2016

29481890When Sophie Greenwood returns to work after four years raising her daughter, she is ready for an exciting new challenge.

But after an unnerving encounter drags up memories she’d rather forget, things take a turn for the sinister. What is her ambitious young assistant really up to? And what exactly happened to Sophie’s predecessor? When her husband and daughter are pulled into the nightmare, Sophie is forced to confront the darkest secrets she has carried for years.

As her life begins to fall apart at work and at home, Sophie must race to uncover the truth about her new job…before it kills her.


♥♥♥♥♥


This book is definitely a Psychological Thriller.

‘The Devil’s Work’ follows Sophie, who is returning to work at her dream job, Jackdaw Publishing, after a long maternity leave.

The majority of the story is told from Sophie’s POV in the present day, with flashbacks to her college days. Upon Sophie’s return to work we learn that something tragic happened to her college friends, Jasmine and Liam. The college flashbacks focus around Sophie, Liam and her friend Jasmine, who just happens to be the heir to the Jackdaw Company.

Upon Sophie commencing work at Jackdaw, strange occurrences start to happen to Sophie and those close to her, these events lead to Sophie alienating the people around her and ensuring her friends, family, police and the reader question her sanity.

This was an enthralling read that keeps you guessing at every turn. Although the ending is quite obvious and at one point I had it right, the story still keeps you captivated to the very end.

I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review. I would like to thank Mark Edwards for the opportunity to read this amazing book.

 

13 thoughts on “The Devil’s Work by Mark Edwards

    1. Oh really!! I love psychological thrillers!
      They would have to be one of my favourite genres.
      But I also love horror movies and scary tv shows.
      And then complain when I can’t sleep lol.

      Thank you I love finding fun gifs to go with the review lol.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Your reviews are fun to read, even if I’m not a psychological thriller reader. I used to read only Stephen King when I was a kid, because I loved him. I did a book report in 3rd grade on Pet Semetary. I tried to read Dean Koontz, but couldn’t get into his writing. I loved R.L. Stine’s Fear Street series.
        Now I can’t handle the stress of wondering what’s going to happen next! I can still watch the movies, but I can’t read the books. I don’t know what happened to me…why I changed genres and can’t get into the thrillers anymore. I just don’t know. Maybe I’ll change again in a few years? 🤔

        Like

        1. Thanks 🙂
          I love Stephen King!! Carrie, Pet Semetary and Christine would have to be my favourites!! Your teacher would have loved that book report! Lol.Pet Semetary was one of the first books I can remember reading and Jackie Collins, Hollywood Husbands, my mum was horrified lol. I still love Jackie Collins.
          I have never read anything by Dean Koontz, but R.L. Stine is amazing! I loved Fear Street Series and pretty much everything else from him haha.

          I think we just go through phases, there will be times where I won’t want to pick up a thriller, and that can last months, then I’ll get back into them and wonder what I was doing for the last couple of months not reading them.
          The movies and TV shows scare the absolute shit out of me lol, but I still have to watch them, its a terrible addiction!

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

