Book Updates

Happy Sunday!!

I hope everyone is having a great weekend! πŸ™‚

divider12

First up I want to share with you all some awesome books I have won!

1477789818602

Most recently… I won signed copies of Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake and Replica by Lauren Oliver from Booksparks on Instagram… So exciting!!

However I failed to read the fine print (US only) *sigh*. I thought I was going to miss out on these amazing books… But,Β I have an amazing friend in the US!!!

I would like to thank Stephanie @ TeacherofYA for letting me send these books to her address and forwarding Three Dark Crowns to me (I have a copy of Replica already and don’t need another one, so Stephanie is hanging on to that copy πŸ™‚ ) And of course Booksparks for the awesome competition and sending the books to Stephanie to forward to me πŸ™‚


img_2692

 

I received Love Murder by Saul Black from Hachette Australia via a Twitter competition… Seriously love Hachette Aus!! Lol. I have received a lot of amazing books from them including an ARC of The Hating Game by Sally Thorne and a copy of The Joyce Girl (both viaΒ Bookstr)Β The Joyce Girl is still on its way πŸ™‚

31937732img_2738

 

 

 


img_2733-1

The Assassin’s Heart I also won from a Twitter competition.

I received this book from Harlequin Teen Australia.

divider12

Book Updates.

Current Read(s)…

 

Currently I am reading A Feast of Sorrows for the Halloween Read-A-Thon. Some of the short stories are creep-tastic… others not so much. I received a copy of this book from NetGalley.
I am also reading Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake. This is for the Fall Bookish Bingo as well as forΒ TBR Pen Pals in the For Love of a Book group on Goodreads. I received a copy of this book from NetGalley (AUS) and Edelweiss (US) because I am impatient and don’t like waiting for approval lol.

Previous Read(s)…

Since my last update I have read the following… (October 13th)

 

The Empty Room Review
What Doesn’t Kill Us Review
The other reviews are still to come…

Next To Be Read…

I want to read Caraval soon, it sounds so amazing, and The Fourth Piece as my stop on theΒ blog tour is coming up.

 

divider12

Halloween Read-A-Thon Update…halloween-readathon

  1. Costume Party :: A Feast of Sorrows
  2. Haunted House :: Cat’s Cradle
  3. Urban Legends :: The StepMother
  4. Witching Hour :: The Jersey Devil
  5. Trick or Treat :: Caraval
  6. All Hallows Eve :: Interference

Read so far…

 

 

 

 

Currently reading for the Read-A-Thon…

 

To be read….

 

divider12

What are some books you have won?

What are you reading / have recently read?
Are you participating in the Read-A-Thon? How are you going so far?

 

onebookishgirl

88 thoughts on “Book Updates

  1. I recently won an annotated ARC of Bone Witch by Rin Chupeco through a Twitter chat! It was so unexpected but I’m happy. I can’t wait for it to arrive! I’m not reading anything right now ’cause I’m so busy making my reviews for my long-due ARCs. Plus I’ve never participated in any read-a-thon because I suck at stuff like that. πŸ˜‚
    Anyways, I’m so jealous you got a copy of Three Dark Crowns. i wanna read it despite all the bad reviews. Congratulations! And I hope you enjoy all the books you’re planning to read!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh wow!! Congrats!! Bone Witch sounds like an amazing read!
      Haha I’m glad I’m not the only one behind on reviews!! I have so many to catch up on 😦
      I generally suck at read-a-thons and challenges, but I used my NetGalley reads for this one so it worked out well lol.
      I recieved an e-book copy of Three Dark Crowns from NetGalley, so far I am about half way through it and I am really enjoying it, which is why I am so excited for this signed copy lol.

      Thank you πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It is, you should check it out. The cover’s also beautiful. And lol.. Netgalley never approved my request for 3DC although I do hope you’ll enjoy it! I really like the concept and idea behind the story.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Yeah I requested the Bone Witch on NG and wasn’t approved.
          I got the AUS version of 3DC from NG and the US version from Edelweiss (I didn’t think I would get approved on Edelweiss as it was US version so I requested it on NG)

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Me too. My request for Bone witch on NG was ignored. I’ve been waiting for months. It was lucky I won.
            Haha.. so now you’ve got 2 copies. Dang. Maybe I should try Edelweiss as well.. if it’s still available.

            Like

                1. Haha, my list is ridiculous on NG. I am at 17% 😦

                  Edelweiss is great once you get the hang of it (I’m still not completely sure how to use it properly, but I can request books haha), NG is so much easier to use.
                  Have you had a look at Edelweiss+?

                  Like

                    1. Yeah I have to stay away from NetGalley for a while so I won’t be tempted to request any more books.
                      And uh.. I dunno… Is this the right one? edelweiss.abovethetreeline.com

                      Like

                    2. Haha I know, but then I go to post a review and end up browsing books lol.

                      Yeah thats the one. I found it easier to go to the ‘Review Copies’ tab
                      Then there is a ‘search within results’ bar thing, that might make finding things easier

                      Like

                    3. 😦 that sucks.
                      Thats okay, when I first started on there I just ended up browsing pretty much the whole selection of review copies because I could not figure out how to work it lol.
                      But I figured out the search refine buttons now lol.

                      Liked by 1 person

                    4. Lol. It’s okay. I’ll find some other way to grab a copy of 3DC. And anyways, I better catch some sleep. It’s already morning here and I have to get up early to go to the cemetery. XD I’ll be exploring Edelweiss some other time then. Thanks so much for all the advice! 😊

                      Like

  2. Did you manage to score a copy of Caraval!? I am so jealous if you did. I was denied 😦 You had a pretty big haul this month with some great titles. I have an ARC of Three Dark Crowns but would love a signed copy ❀

    Also that cover of A Feast of Sorrows is beautiful! I would totally snag it based on that fact alone haha. I am so bad with cover buys sometimes πŸ˜›

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You’re doing great with the Halloween Readathon! Awesome! And congrats on winning those awesome books! I really wanna read Three Dark Crowns and Replica soon. And signed copies at that?! That’s amazing! And I never thought about doing that… like forwarding to one address then sending to you, because a lot of giveaways are for US only. But just wanted to let you know that you’re always more than welcome to use my address too if you ever need to, and I could send them to you. That’s what blogger friends do 😊 Congrats again!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks I don’t think I am going to get Caraval read for the read-a-thon though 😦
      And thank you again πŸ™‚ I was so happy when they inboxed me, I have one signed book that is addressed to some random lady hahah!!
      I have never thought about it, until they said ‘sorry US only’. So then I spammed poor Stephanie’s twitter inbox lol.
      It’s crazy how many competitions are just for the US! And thank you so much!! I will definitely keep that in mind when I see US competitions now πŸ™‚ If you see any AUS only ones (Highly unlikely but you never know lol) I would be more than happy to forward them on πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m so proud of you! What a score!
    I can’t wait to mail you your signed book, and pack a couple goodies from me in there. It’ll be the best book mail ever! I’m just glad I can help: I hate these contests and their rules against other countries…yeah, shipping is expensive, but I think it’s only fair. And shipping should be way cheaper than it currently is: it’s a travesty how much it costs to send something!
    I’m so glad you did a post and everyone can see your prizes! It’s too exciting to keep to yourself! πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸΎπŸΎπŸΎπŸΎπŸΎ

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you and you’re the best!! πŸ™‚
      I’m getting a goodies pack ready for you with Three Dark Crowns in it πŸ™‚
      Shipping is so ridiculous at the moment!! But not as ridiculous as the exchange rate!!
      If I buy something from US or UK it is like double in AUD, craziness!
      It is way to exciting to keep to myself. Wait til you see what books I have collected this month (I’m doing a October wrap up / haul tonight lol.) I got approved for some cool ones on NetGalley (no idea how, I am at 17%… the shaame! haha) I really just cant resist that request button!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I can’t resist the button either! The only good thing about being out of work? Extra time to read! Lol!
        So excited about a goodies pack! Can’t wait to send yours to you!
        Shipping and exchange rates are crazy, just like time zones!! πŸ˜‘
        I can’t wait to read your wrap up!!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I have stopped requesting on NetGalley
          but I have some pending on Edelweiss.
          I need extra time to read!! Did you end up getting your essay finished?
          Goodies pack will be awesome!! πŸ˜€ I’m excited!!

          Like

  5. I haven’t won any books so far. And congratulations on winning yours! Right now I am doing a read-a-thon, Hogwarts House Cup, and I am reading My Lady Jane, Northanger Abbey, Carrie, Harry Potter 5 and Illuminae (so many at the same time πŸ˜…)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you 😊😊 I’m sure you’ll win some soon. I’ve entered into a million things and have only won about 10 of them.
      Oh that sounds like an interesting read-a-thon. Is it good?
      That is a lot of books at once!! Haha I love Carrie! Such a good book and movies 😊 nothing beats HP though.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Sadly I haven’t won any books, but congratulations to you!
    I’m currently reading you know me well, by Nina LaCour and David Levithan and have recently finished A Torch Against The Night — it was soon good! .
    I’m currently not participating in a read-a-thon, I don’t think that I have the time as school starts again tomorrow 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m sure you will one day 😊😊 I have been pretty lucky with winning books at the moment.
      Those books sound interesting. I’ve heard a lot about A Torch Against The Night.
      I do not miss school. It takes up so much of your day and then you get homework! It was the worst lol.

      Liked by 1 person

                1. Advanced Reading Copies. So you get the book before it is released.
                  Some lucky people get them sent in the mail from publishers.
                  But if you sign up to NetGalley or Edelweiss you can get e-ARCs which is electronic advanced reading copies in exchange for reviews.

                  Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

