Standalone Sunday: Big Little Lies

I have been terrible with my posting schedule lately! Time to get back into it with this awesome meme!!

standalone

About Standalone Sunday…

Standalone Sunday is a feature created by Megan @ BookslayerReads where each Sunday we will feature a standalone book (not part of a series) that you loved or would recommend! There’s so much focus on books that are part of a series… I thought it’d be nice to focus on some standalone novels, too!

Feel free to join in on this weekly feature by creating your own Standalone Sunday post! And you’re more than welcome to use the image I created. Please link to your post back to Megan @ BookslayerReads post!🙂

divider12

This weeks book is Big Little Lies…

19486412

Big Little Lies
by Liane Moriarty

first published July 29th 2014

‘I guess it started with the mothers.’

‘It was all just a terrible misunderstanding.’

‘I’ll tell you exactly why it happened.’

Pirriwee Public’s annual school Trivia Night has ended in a shocking riot. One parent is dead. Was it murder, a tragic accident…or something else entirely?

Big Little Lies is a funny, heartbreaking, challenging story of ex-husbands and second wives, new friendships, old betrayals and schoolyard politics.

No. 1 New York Times bestselling author Liane Moriarty turns her unique gaze on the dangerous little lies we tell ourselves every day and what really goes on behind closed suburban doors.

Let me be clear. This is not a circus. This is a murder investigation.

Goodreads | Book Depository 

divider12

I absolutely love this book! And have re-read it a couple of times.
If you haven’t read this, you need to!!
If you have read this, what did you think?? 🙂

It is also being turned into movie.. Yaaay!! check out the trailer here.

alex

37 thoughts on “Standalone Sunday: Big Little Lies

  1. I’ve been reading all of her books. I love them! So far I’ve read: Big Little Lies, Truly Madly Gulity and The Husband’s Secret with my face being Big Little Lies. Any recommendations for what to read next?! Also, based off this author, any authors you’d recommend? I appreciate it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Big Little Lies is a tv show now too! So excited!
      Her sister, Nicola Moriarty, just released a book ‘The Fifth Letter’
      Apart from that I’m not entirely sure of any more similar books.
      There was another Aussie release The Golden Child by Wendy James. It’s supposed to be the book to read if you love Liane’s books

      Like

  2. I loved this book too! One of my favorites that I read this year. I think it’s my favorite one of Liane Moriarty’s books. I re-read the ending several times as it was just so well done. It’s a book I will definitely re-read at some point.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you loved it too. 😊😊
      Definitely would have to be her best book so far!!
      I’m excited to read Truly Madly Guilty, although I haven’t seen many great reviews about it.
      And I think the Hypnotists Love Story would be a good read.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Truly Madly Guilty is alright – it doesn’t live up to Big Little Lies, but I did enjoy it. I rated it as one of my top hyped books that didn’t live up to the hype this year because Big Little Lies was soooo good.
        I haven’t read The Hypnotists Love Story yet, but it sounds good!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I chose this one as my Standalone Sunday pick a few weeks ago! I loved, loved, loved this book!! It was so drama-filled and awesome. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed it as well. I had no idea they were turning it into a movie!! I’ll definitely be watching it when it comes out!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This one is on my TBR! I don’t own it but do own The Husband’s Secret and have heard good things about that one, too. I’m really wanting to read this so I’m able to watch the show whenever it comes out!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

