Buddy Read with Jasmine :: Hunted by Meagan Spooner

untitled-design-2untitled-design-2untitled-design-2untitled-design-2

Yes, I am attempting to get in the Christmas spirit 🙂
Yes, I can be quite the Grinch. I hate Christmas Carols!

divider

Title: Hunted9780062422286_93f3d
Author
: Meagan Spooner
Series: Hunted #1

Expected Publication: March 14th 2017
Read: December 7th 2016

Synopsis from Edelweiss:

Beauty knows the Beast’s forest in her bones—and in her blood. Though she grew up with the city’s highest aristocrats, far from her father’s old lodge, she knows that the forest holds secrets and that her father is the only hunter who’s ever come close to discovering them.

So when her father loses his fortune and moves Yeva and her sisters back to the outskirts of town, Yeva is secretly relieved. Out in the wilderness, there’s no pressure to make idle chatter with vapid baronessas…or to submit to marrying a wealthy gentleman. But Yeva’s father’s misfortune may have cost him his mind, and when he goes missing in the woods, Yeva sets her sights on one prey: the creature he’d been obsessively tracking just before his disappearance.

Deaf to her sisters’ protests, Yeva hunts this strange Beast back into his own territory—a cursed valley, a ruined castle, and a world of creatures that Yeva’s only heard about in fairy tales. A world that can bring her ruin or salvation. Who will survive: the Beauty, or the Beast?

Goodreads

divider

Be still my beating heart!!

As most of you have probably figured out… I am obsessed with retellings!! And apparently Wolves! Ha!! If you haven’t heard I am in love with The Big Bad Wolf from The Forgotten Fairytales by Angela Parkhurst. Anyway back to this book. I buddy read this book with my book blogging friend, Jasmine @How Useful It Is. Check out her amazing review here! 🙂 🙂

I must say that this is an amazing retelling of Beauty and the Beast, with a lovely twist of Russian folklore, “Tsarevitch Ivan, the Firebird and the Gray Wolf”. I am not particularly familiar with Russian folklore, but after reading this book, I want more!! The story also brings to light the nastier subjects such as bestiality and Stockholm syndrome throughout the story. They aren’t just swept under the rug and made to seem like it is okay thing.

The author has created loveable characters and a beautiful world. I love that Beauty (Yeva) is portrayed as a strong hunter, who can not only look after herself but her family as well. Beauty’s two sisters are kind and selfless and whilst Beauty is favoured by her father her two sisters are never bitter or resentful. I love Doe-eyes!! I love stories that portray pets as part of the family. Makes me happy.

The story takes place in the past times of horse and carriages and women being seen not heard. In a world ruled by social standing, the men in the story are portrayed as true gentlemen. I’m not delving too far into the men in this story as I don’t want to give anything away. 🙂  I can say that the Beast is, as like the original story, not who he seems. I loved getting the snapshot of thoughts from the Beasts POV throughout the story.
I became quite attached to the characters in this book and although this says it is part of a series, I am not sure where else this story can go. For all the people out there that hate cliff hangers, there are none!!

However this story, as all great fairytales should, comes with a warning. A warning of what happens when you are not happy with what you have got. This is what made the book great in my eyes. It wasn’t just a simple retelling with a twist, the story has meaning and a purpose. Whilst some parts may become a bit dull, I was hooked. I couldn’t wait to see what would happen next.

I want to say so much more, but I am not about to spoil the book for anyone, however one last thing… There is no insta-love!! This made me soooooo happy!

I would like to thank Meagan Spooner, HarperTeen (HarperCollins) and Edelweiss for providing me with a copy of this book.

divider

4615776About the Author

New York Times bestselling author Meagan Spooner grew up reading and writing every spare moment of the day, while dreaming about life as an archaeologist, a marine biologist, an astronaut. She graduated from Hamilton College in New York with a degree in playwriting, and has spent several years since then living in Australia. She’s traveled with her family all over the world to places like Egypt, South Africa, the Arctic, Greece, Antarctica, and the Galapagos, and there’s a bit of every trip in every story she writes.

She currently lives and writes in Asheville, North Carolina, but the siren call of travel is hard to resist, and there’s no telling how long she’ll stay there. She’s the author of the award-winning Starbound trilogy (These Broken Stars, This Shattered World, Their Fractured Light) and the Skylark Trilogy (Skylark, Shadowlark, Lark Ascending) as well as the upcoming Beauty and the Beast retelling Hunted.

In her spare time she plays guitar, plays video games, plays with her cat, and reads.

Goodreads | Blog

divider

Have you read this book? Do you plan on reading this book?
What are your thoughts?

alex

 

22 thoughts on “Buddy Read with Jasmine :: Hunted by Meagan Spooner

    1. Hahaha right!!! Insta-love is terrible!
      I will most likely be buying this book for my shelves when it comes out. It is such a great read!
      I hope you love it when you get around to reading it 🙂

      Like

  1. You + me = Buddy read. Whaddaya say? 🤔🤔🤔
    I’m thinking compare our TBRs and see what we got coming up or any ARCs coming out…I could see us having a lot of fun! 🤡🤡🤡
    Love the reindeer. Maybe your new icons should be hedgehogs?
    I’m trying to think of something cutesy besides stars, but I guess Teachers use gold stars on papers. It would prob need to be something “teachery” bc of my blog name. I should’ve picked something more whimsical for my title and used unicorns! 🦄
    But a little late for that, huh? Maybe some mini angry school marms? 👩‍🏫

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yaaaaass!! Sounds good. I might do a post with all my tbr books soon.
      How adorable are they. I thought I’d get into the Christmas spirit. I have doughnuts for when Christmas is over lol. Or I found cool heart ones. But it’s an actual heart not a ❤️.
      You could use rulers 🤣🤣🤣🤣 or 📓 books lol

      Liked by 1 person

    1. **mild panic attack** I’ve just had a complete mental blank lol.
      I would highly recommend this one. If you have Edelweiss it is on there.
      Alice in Zombieland if you like zombies and gore. It is nothing like the original though.
      The Forgotten Fairytales is about fairytale characters in a boarding school before they go on to be the character they were born to be.
      Oh I also loved The Shadow Queen. The second book in that series will be out at the start of next year

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This was such an amazing review, Sam! It really made me want to read this book. I mean, Russian folklore? Fairy tale retelling? I’m totally in!

    I feel it’s much deeper and complex than most YA stories we’ve seen on the subject, though, which makes me super stoked to try it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you 😊😊 it was a great read! Definitely one of the better retellings. It’s more complex than other retellings I have read which is great! 😊😊
      It’s not always action packed but it’s nice to have a lull in the action I feel like you get to learn more about the characters.
      I hope you love it when you get a chance to read it 😘

      Like

  3. Lovely review! I like that you mentioned the story about Ivan, firebird, and the grey wolf is a Russian forklore. I read that story on its own before, but I didn’t know it’s Russian.. haha.. It was great doing the buddy read on this book with you. It’s definitely a great book! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

