ARC REVIEW: The Best Friend by Shalini Boland

untitled-design-4untitled-design-4untitled-design-4untitled-design-4
divider12

the2bbest2bfriend2bby2bshalini2bboland

 

Book Title: The Best Friend
Author: Shalini Boland
Pages: 332

Genres: Thriller, Psychological Thriller, Suspense
Publisher: Adrenalin Books

Date Read: 17/10/2016
Release Date: 20/10/2016

Goodreads || Book Depository

1

They say to keep your friends close and your enemies closer . . . Wrong.
Louisa’s new best friend has it all – the house, the status, the money – but she’s also hiding a dark secret. And, as Louisa is drawn deeper into her friend’s life, events take a chilling turn . . .

divider12

2

 

‘They say to keep your friends close and your enemies closer … Wrong.

Louisa’s new best friend has it all – the house, the status, the money – but she’s also hiding a dark secret. and, as Louisa is drawn deeper into her friend’s life, events take a chilling turn …’

Is that not the best introduction into a book!!! Seriously I fell in love with this book right there and then! The story hadn’t even started lol.
I had recently read another of Shalini’s book, The Girl From The Sea, and really enjoyed it. So I was thrilled when Shalini contacted me and offered me a copy of her new book, The Best Friend. The girl is good at writing thrillers!!!

So the book starts off with a paranoid Louisa, and slowly progresses to bat-shit crazy Louisa. It is great! I mean even her husband thinks she lost her marbles.
Darcey, the new best friend, is beautiful, rich and super nice. Maybe a little too nice. Anyway she has it all, so of course Louisa is jealous of her. This makes people think that Louisa is making it up to knock Darcey down a notch or two. But in a psychological thriller you can never be too certain about the bad guy.  Anyway, all of this leaves you wondering if the strange occurrences are actually happening or if Louisa, has in fact lost her mind.

The ending to this book whilst quite obvious still came with a decent twist that I honestly did not see coming. Overall this was a well written, gripping, psychological thriller. I am looking forward to reading more books by Shalini in the future. 🙂

I would like to thank the author, Shalini Boland, for sending me a copy of this book. This has in no way impacted my thoughts on this book.

divider12

1

 

4727364

 

 

About me from Shalini’s website.

“Books and music are my passion and I’ve always been a writer in some shape or form. Before children, I was signed to Universal Music as a singer/songwriter. I collaborated with some amazing musicians and was lucky enough to sing with Basement Jaxx on their album Rootyand live on stage. But that all seems like several lifetimes ago.

Now I combine motherhood with writing fiction. I write the kinds of books I love to read – gripping adventures with a spattering of supernatural and a sprinkling of romance.”

Visit Shalini on Goodreads.

divider12

Have you read this book yet?

If you have what are your thoughts?

alex

4 thoughts on “ARC REVIEW: The Best Friend by Shalini Boland

Leave a Reply

