Review : Nina is Not Okay

untitled-design-4untitled-design-4untitled-design-4untitled-design-4

divider

27245625

Nina is Not OK

Published July 28th 2016

Nina does not have a drinking problem. She likes a drink, sure. But what 17-year-old doesn’t?

Nina’s mum isn’t so sure. But she’s busy with her new husband and five year old Katie. And Nina’s almost an adult after all.

And if Nina sometimes wakes up with little memory of what happened the night before, then her friends are all too happy to fill in the blanks. Nina’s drunken exploits are the stuff of college legend.

But then one dark Sunday morning, even her friends can’t help piece together Saturday night. All Nina feels is a deep sense of shame, that something very bad has happened to her…

A dark, funny – sometimes shocking – coming of age novel from one of the UK’s leading comedians. NINA IS NOT O.K. will appeal to fans of Caitlin Moran and Lena Dunham.

divider

My Thoughts…

Honestly I wasn’t sure I would like this book. But it surprised me.
This book is witty, funny and terrible all in the same paragraph. The author has done a brilliant job of keeping a fun, easy to read mood whilst never detracting away from the serious issue that arise within this story.
This book explores issues such as friendship, alcoholism and the fine line between drunk sex and rape. So that may put some people off. However the author has approached these subjects with tact and consideration.

Shappi created a terribly sarcastic MC that I absolutely adored. Yes, Nina could be a horrible, sometimes whiny, b***h, but she’s a teenager going through a difficult situation. I know that I certainly wasn’t a model citizen as a teenager and at times my mother probably would have loved nothing more than to throttle me haha. But I believe that the author has done an amazing job portraying her, and while she might not be the most likeable character, she is one of the realest.
Personally I developed a love / hate relationship with the majority of the characters in this book… Some I just loved and others I just really hated haha. Either way I found all the characters were intriguing and well developed.

I don’t want to go into the story too much and give anything more away. But it is definitely an interesting, well paced story.
You should probably just read it because it’s actually really funny.

The issues the author has raised in this book are very real in todays society. I would definitely recommend this book to everyone!

Thank you to NetGalley and the publishers for granting my wish and providing me a copy of this book.

divider

About the Author…

2976520Shaparak “Shappi” Khorsandi (born 8 June 1973) is an Iranian-born British comedian.

The daughter of Hadi Khorsandi, her family was forced to flee from Iran to London after the Islamic Revolution following the publication of a satirical poem her father composed. The poem was perceived as being critical of the revolutionary regime. Shappi was raised without any religion.
Khorsandi graduated from the University of Winchester in 1995, with a degree in Drama, Theatre and Television, then moving onto pursue a career in comedy. In 2010, the University honoured her by awarding her an honourary doctorate.
Khorsandi was married to fellow comedian Christian Reilly, by whom she has a son named Charlie. They divorced in 2010. She lives with her son in west London near Richmond Park. Her father and brother are also stand-up comedians.

Khorsandi performs stand-up comedy, having been a noted performer at Joe Wilson’s Comedy Madhouse throughout 1997. She has appeared on many BBC Radio 4 programmes, including Quote… Unquote, Loose Ends, You and Yours, Midweek, Just A Minute, The Now Show and The News Quiz, as well as BBC Television’s Have I Got News For You. In July 2009 she hosted her own four-part series, Shappi Talk on BBC Radio 4, examining what it is like growing up in multi-cultural families. She also writes an occasional column for online magazine Iranian.com.
In 2007, she made her first trip to Australia and the Melbourne Comedy Festival with her show Asylum Speaker. She also appeared live on the Australia comedy talk show Rove. Later, she was nominated for best breakthrough act at the 2007 Chortle Awards. In December 2008, she appeared on the BBC stand-up television show Live at the Apollo alongside Russell Kane and Al Murray. She also made an appearance on Michael McIntyre’s Comedy Roadshow on 20 June 2009, Friday Night with Jonathan Ross on 26 June 2009 and 8 Out of 10 Cats on 10 July 2009.
Khorsandi’s memoir, A Beginner’s Guide to Acting English, was published by Ebury Press on 2 July 2009. She performed her show, The Distracted Activist, at the Edinburgh Festival Fringe from 6–31 August 2009.
She was a panellist on Question Time in 2006, and returned on 14 January 2010. During that show, she mentioned that her political support goes to Labour. She performed on the second episode of Let’s Dance for Sport Relief 2010.
In 2010, Khorsandi took part in Channel 4’s Comedy Gala, a benefit show held in aid of Great Ormond Street Children’s Hospital, filmed live at the O2 Arena in London on 30 March. She appeared as a guest in Genius hosted by Dave Gorman on 31 October 2010. Khorsandi appeared on Channel 4’s The Celebrity Bank Job in March 2012 and won £59,000 for her chosen charities.

divider

edelweiss-and-netgalley-books-3

Advertisements

18 thoughts on “Review : Nina is Not Okay

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s