Review : The Girlfriend by Michelle Frances

untitled-design-3untitled-design-3untitled-design-3untitled-design-3

divider

IMG_0214

Title : The Girlfriend
Author : Michelle Frances
Published : May 2017
Publisher : MacMillan Australia

divider

My Thoughts….

When I read the synopsis for this book I knew I just had to read it!

A mother and son with a seemingly unshakable bond. The girl who will do anything to keep the man she is with. And, of course, the unforgivable lie that creates chaos in all of their lives.

Going into this book I was intrigued as to what the lie was and why it was so terrible. It takes awhile to get to this, but it is totally worth the wait. From the start of this book I was dragged into these peoples lives! After working in television drama, the author definitely knows how to bring the drama and keep her audience in suspense.

The characters in this book are both likeable and despicable. I was on an emotional roller coaster, going between love, pity and dislike for the majority of the characters in this book.

Laura is your normal, slightly overbearing mother. She just wants what is best for her son, and clearly she knows best.
Daniel is an aspiring doctor, who despite being raised with a silver spoon in his mouth, is unpretentious and down to earth.
Cherry, the girl from the ‘wrong side of the tracks’, who will do anything to get the opportunities and life she always dreamed of.

The author has done an amazing job keeping the characters and story interesting throughout the whole book. It is a gripping and enthralling read that will drag you in from the start. I definitely recommend this to any psychological thriller fans!!

I would like to thank Alana and the team at MacMillan Australia, and of course the Author, for  providing me with a copy of this book.

divider

Goodreads Synopsis…

The Girlfriend by Michelle Frances is a gripping and chilling debut psychological thriller, based on the fall-out following an unforgiveable lie. It looks at the potentially charged relationship between girlfriend, boyfriend and his mother, which most women can identify with, and locates it in an extreme but believable setting.

A girl. A boy. His mother. And the lie she’ll wish she’d never told.

Laura has it all. A successful career, a long marriage to a rich husband, and a twenty-three year-old son, Daniel, who is kind, handsome, and talented. Then Daniel meets Cherry. Cherry is young, beautiful and smart but she hasn’t had the same opportunities as Daniel. And she wants Laura’s life. Cherry comes to the family wide-eyed and wants to be welcomed with open arms, but Laura suspects she’s not all that she seems. When tragedy strikes, an unforgiveable lie is told. It is an act of desperation, but the fall-out will change their lives forever.

divider

About the Author…

Michelle has worked in television drama as a producer and script editor for fifteen years, both for the independent sector and the BBC. The Girlfriend is her first novel.

divider

samonebookishgirl

5 thoughts on “Review : The Girlfriend by Michelle Frances

  1. Been awhile since I have seen a review from you so I’m glad you have time to read! I’m sure things are hectic now. Did you ever read One Of Us Is Lying?? Dying to know what you thought of it.
    Did you know I’m going to BookCon?? We need to catch up! 😩

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I posted one like a month ago haha. One a month is a good effort right?!
      I have read One of Us Is Lying, it was great!! Hope to catch up on that review soon.

      Ooooh BookCon sounds amazing!! I don’t think we have them over here 😦 I’ll need lots of photos!! Are you excited?!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m so glad you read One Of Us! Can’t wait to see that review!
        I’m excited and nervous at the same time! Eeeep! You know I’ve never done much or been anywhere…I hope I don’t get raped or robbed…well, mainly robbed bc I don’t think I’m in danger of the other thing near the Con. I’m thinking of strapping my money to my body with duct tape like they do in spy movies: what do you think? 🤔
        😂😆🤣😆

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Haha yeah I need to get around to that soon!! Loved that book.
          So exciting, will be a great experience for you!! I’m so excited for you!!! I think you should be okay, maybe get a bum bag/ fanny pack thing? They look like they are hard to steal haha. I feel like duct tape would hurt too much, but you would probably go home with money due to the fact it was too painful to rip off hahaah.

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

