Book Tour : Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde

untitled-design-4untitled-design-4untitled-design-4untitled-design-4

divider

28245707

Queens of Geek

Publisher : Pan Macmillan Australia
Published : May 1st 2017
divider

My Thoughts…

I have so much love for Queens of Geek and Jen Wilde!!! This book is all things geeky and awesome!!

The book is told from two POVs; Charlie, a bisexual Chinese Australian vlogger/actress and Taylor, an Aspie who’s obsessed with the Queen Firestone fandom.
I honestly loved both characters and really enjoyed seeing their journey over the course of the weekend at SupaCon and how they learnt and grew throughout it.

So back to the story, Charlie gets an invite to SupaCon to do promotional work for her new movie and her two best friends Taylor and Jamie get to tag along. BTW, SupaCon sounds like heaven!! I really wish I had some geeky best friends that I could fan-girl with when I was growing up.

Of course there is drama, romance and tears, plus lots of geeking out. This book is definitely a must read for any geeks and fangirls out there.
Queens of Geek also tackles, what can sometimes be sensitive, issues such as Aspergers, anxiety, sexuality (bisexuality), body shaming and the emotional baggage that can come with them. This author really has done an amazing job with this book, it is such a relatable story for so many people and has so many positive messages for everyone!!

“Sometimes I don’t think I’m being a girl right. I have an undercut and wear clothes I’ve bought from the boys’ section, and I don’t wear makeup or do my nails. I watch horror movies and play video games and burp and swear and don’t talk about my feelings or any of that crap. I’m like Sandra Bullock in Miss Congeniality, only before the makeover.”


“There’s no one way to be a girl, Tay. You don’t need to fit yourself into what society tells us a girl should be… Are you happy the way you are? Are you comfortable? Do you feel like yourself? … Then that’s all that matters. Fuck everything else.”

While there are some cheesy parts throughout the book, but it totally works. Its such a fun, easy read that I honestly just could not put down! It is a great story with a great message, that is all about self confidence, being your self and having fun! I would love to see more of Charlie, Tay and Jamie and their lives in LA.

Thank you to Alana and the team at Pan Macmillan Australia for providing me with a copy of this book.

divider

Goodreads Synopsis…IMG_4073

When BFFs Charlie, Taylor and Jamie go to SupaCon, they know it’s going to be a blast. What they don’t expect is for it to change their lives forever.

Charlie likes to stand out. SupaCon is her chance to show fans she’s over her public breakup with co-star, Reese Ryan. When Alyssa Huntington arrives as a surprise guest, it seems Charlie’s long-time crush on her isn’t as one-sided as she thought.

While Charlie dodges questions about her personal life, Taylor starts asking questions about her own.

Taylor likes to blend in. Her brain is wired differently, making her fear change. And there’s one thing in her life she knows will never change: her friendship with Jamie—no matter how much she may secretly want it to. But when she hears about the Queen Firestone SupaFan Contest, she starts to rethink her rules on playing it safe.

divider

About the author…7154841

Jen Wilde is a writer, geek and fangirl. Her debut into fiction, THE EVA SERIES, reached over three million reads on Wattpad and became an Amazon bestseller.

When she’s not writing, she loves binge-watching Netflix, eating pizza, and going to pop culture conventions cosplaying as Marty McFly.

Jen lives in a beachside town in Australia with her husband and their troublesome pug, aptly named Heisenberg.

divider
edelweiss-and-netgalley-books-3
4 thoughts on “Book Tour : Queens of Geek by Jen Wilde

    1. It is definitely a great read, I was a little bit dubious about it but I am so glad I read it. Plus its an Aussie author so I just had to lol.
      The cover is gorgeous, I love it! I’d buy a copy just for that cover lol.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I love the sound of this book. It sounds like an issue-based due to some of the heavy themes. I like the fact that you couldn’t put it down. Definitely one for my TBR. Fab review!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!! ☺️☺️
      I read it in two nights haha. Would have been one but I needed to sleep so I could function at work.
      I definitely think it is a book everyone should read!! The author handles the themes throughout the book so well.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

