June ’17 TBR List…

Okay so I’m a few days late to post this. But I thought I would do a tentative TBR list for June!! Fingers crossed I can read the books I need too.

So here are the books that I am aiming to read this month.


1. The Barrier by Shankari Chandran

I received a copy of this book from Pan Macmillan Australia and I am super excited to read it. I haven’t read a book like this in awhile and this one sounds amazing!!

IMG_0230Goodreads Synopsis…

War, disease, biotechnology and religion intertwine in a gripping near-future thriller.

Twenty years ago an Ebola epidemic brought the world to the edge of oblivion. The West won the war, the East was isolated behind a wall, and a vaccine against Ebola was developed. Peace prevailed. Now Agent Noah Williams is being sent over the barrier to investigate a rogue scientist who risks releasing another plague. But why would a once-respected academic threaten the enforced vaccination program that ensures humans are no longer an endangered species?

Hunting for answers amid shootouts, espionage and murder, Noah will have to confront a fundamental question: In the fight for survival, can our humanity survive too?

Set in the year 2040, within a complex, volatile political climate that is wholly immersive and unnerving, The Barrier is a blazing, fast-paced thriller in the vein of Michael Crichton and Matthew Reilly; with the subversiveness of John le Carre. But also, one man’s story of overcoming grief in order to recapture his faith.


2. Need You Dead (Roy Grace #13) by Peter James

This is another book that I received from Pan Macmillan, and another that I’m looking forward to reading… we all know that I love a good mystery novel.

Goodreads Synopsis….

IMG_0231Roy Grace, creation of the CWA Diamond Dagger award winning author Peter James, faces his most mysterious case yet in Need You Dead.

Lorna Belling, desperate to escape the marriage from hell, falls for the charms of another man who promises her the earth. But, as Lorna finds, life seldom follows the plans you’ve made. A chance photograph on a client’s mobile phone changes everything for her.

When the body of a woman is found in a bath in Brighton, Detective Superintendent Roy Grace is called to the scene. At first it looks an open and shut case with a clear prime suspect. Then other scenarios begin to present themselves, each of them tantalizingly plausible, until, in a sudden turn of events, and to his utter disbelief, the case turns more sinister than Grace could ever have imagined.


3. Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake

 

I have had this sitting on my TBR shelf for awhile now (I have a whole bookshelf dedicated to my unread books, it’s terrifying). I have heard so many great things about this book and I love Kendare Blake, so fingers crossed I finally get to read this book!!

Goodreads Synopsis…

IMG_0232Cas Lowood has inherited an unusual vocation: He kills the dead.

So did his father before him, until he was gruesomely murdered by a ghost he sought to kill. Now, armed with his father’s mysterious and deadly athame, Cas travels the country with his kitchen-witch mother and their spirit-sniffing cat. They follow legends and local lore, destroy the murderous dead, and keep pesky things like the future and friends at bay.

Searching for a ghost the locals call Anna Dressed in Blood, Cas expects the usual: track, hunt, kill. What he finds instead is a girl entangled in curses and rage, a ghost like he’s never faced before. She still wears the dress she wore on the day of her brutal murder in 1958: once white, now stained red and dripping with blood. Since her death, Anna has killed any and every person who has dared to step into the deserted Victorian she used to call home.

Yet she spares Cas’s life.


5. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Harry Potter #5) by J.K Rowling

I am jumping back in with the #HPBlogateers to finish of the final books!! So we might be reading this book this month, if not I’m aiming to read at least one Harry Potter book, I have book 3 and 4 to read to catch up.

Goodreads Synopsis…

IMG_0234Harry Potter is due to start his fifth year at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. His best friends Ron and Hermione have been very secretive all summer and he is desperate to get back to school and find out what has been going on. However, what Harry discovers is far more devastating than he could ever have expected…

Suspense, secrets and thrilling action from the pen of J.K. Rowling ensure an electrifying adventure that is impossible to put down.

 

 

 


6. Ashes to Ashes by Valerie Thomas

So I think I should try to get a book from my Netgalley list read this month.
This book sounds fascinating and mysterious, hopefully this is as good as it sounds.

Goodreads Synopsis…

IMG_0233From tragedy came power. And from mishandled power came mystery.

After moving into a new gated community with her family, Natalie is ready to begin a peaceful year at Emerson High. A year complete with boy troubles, school dances, new friends… everything an average girl could expect.

Then she starts receiving notes warning her not to go to school November first. Notes in her day planner, on a piece of homework, on a homecoming ticket… The more notes she receives the more details she uncovers, and the clearer it becomes: words like peaceful and average are about the worst ones anyone could use to describe the year she’s about to have. Crazy? Maybe. Violent? Definitely. Heart-wrenching, mind-blowing, life-changing?

Well, that remains to be seen. All Natalie knows from the start is that she shouldn’t go to school on November first. And maybe you shouldn’t either. (less)

divider

What books do you have on your TBR pile this month?

edelweiss-and-netgalley-books-3

25 thoughts on “June ’17 TBR List…

    1. Thank you 😊😊 you too!!
      It is crazy how fast it’s going!! Seriously just flying by!!

      I randomly found it on NetGalley 😂😂.
      I finished it in two sittings. Was a good read, I need the next book now, I need to know what happens 😂😂

      Like

    1. So far the barrier is great!! Definitely a book that gets you thinking.
      I’ve heard so many good things about Anna Dressed in Blood, I hope I get around to reading it.
      Thank you 😊😊 I hope you enjoy your reading this month too

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay! I hope you complete your goal!! I’m like 13 books behind my goal 👎🏽👎🏽 lol
      At least you can just pick up whatever book you feel like! Sometimes that makes it harder though lol. I hope you find some great reads this month 😊😊

      Like

  1. I’ve had Anna Dressed in Blood on my TBR for AGES. I need to get around to that soon. I’ve heard some pretty great things about it. I also need to get moving on reading HP. Haven’t picked up even the first one. I enjoyed the films though! Hope you enjoy all these books 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha glad I’m not the only one who’s had it sitting on my shelf for ages!! I even have the second book waiting patiently beside it 😂😂
      OMG!! You need to read Harry Potter!! They are so much better than the movies. I do love the movies though. I have read all the books numerous times 😂 definitely a series you can never get sick of!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh really!? LOL, I do that sometimes! I’m so sure I’ll love the first book that I buy the second book or simply the rest of the series haha
        I think I’m planning to read the entire series all next month! It’ll be my HP month 😉 I can’t wait to see what everybody’s been raving about for nearly two decades!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Well its good to know I’m not the only person who buys the whole series before reading one book 🤣🤣🤣
          Yessss!! A Harry Potter month would be amazing!!! I hope you love them. It would be terrible that if after 2 decades of listening to people rave about the books it turns out that they just aren’t for you.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Nope not at all 😂😂 It’s a slightly bad habit I probably won’t get rid of for a while lol
            I’m actually really looking forward to next month. I’m definitely decided on doing it 😀 And I have no doubt I’ll enjoy them! They seem like terribly fun books that are hard to dislike. *fingers crossed*

            Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t know if I can pick a favourite Harry Potter book!! I am missing the front cover from Order of the Phoenix so I guess I have read this one a lot 😂😂
      I’m glad you enjoyed Anna Dressed in Blood! I’ve seen a lot of good reviews.

      Like

  2. I don’t set monthly TBR’s, I make seasonal reading plans based on what the new season’s bingo board is. The only time I make an actual TBR is for a readathon with reading challenges.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well that’s fair enough. I haven’t done a bingo board for ages!! They’re fun!!
      I thought I should make a tentative tbr because I have some books from publishers I need to read this month lol.

      Like

    1. Yeah it’s a reread. I think I’ve read all the books about 50 times hahaha. Definitely my favourite series.
      Doesn’t Ashes to Ashes sound good!! I’m really hoping it isn’t a let down. The reviews I have seen were good so that’s a plus.
      I hope you enjoy it.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ohhh but it’s still wonderful! Even when you know exactly what’s going to happen Harry Potter is somehow still fun!
        Yes it really does! The synopsis is very intriguing. And I need to read little more mysterious books so it fits the genres I like. I hope I enjoy it too.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

