Down the TBR Hole #7

Down the TBR Hole meme by Lia at Lost in a Story!

Most of you probably know this feeling. Your Goodreads TBR pile keeps growing and growing and it seems like there is no light at the end of the tunnel. You keep adding, but you add more than you actually read. And then when you’re scrolling through your list, you realize that you have no idea what half the books are about and why you added them. Well, that’s going to change!

It works like this:

  • Go to your Goodreads to-read shelf.
  • Order on ascending date added.
  • Take the first 5 (or 10 if you’re feeling adventurous) books. Of course if you do this weekly, you start where you left off the last time.
  • Read the synopses of the books.
  • Decide: keep it or should it go?

Welcome to another week of Down the TBR Hole…
This weeks books are ….

divider12

1.

Title/Author: The Devil You Know by Elisabeth de Mariaffi

Date Added: Sep 03, 2015

Synopsis:
In the vein of Gillian Flynn’s Sharp Objects and A.S.A. Harrison’s The Silent Wife, The Devil You Know is a thrilling debut about a rookie reporter, whose memories of the murder of her childhood best friend bring danger—and a stalker—right to her doorstep.

The year is 1993. Rookie crime beat reporter Evie Jones is haunted by the unsolved murder of her best friend Lianne Gagnon who was killed in 1982, back when both girls were eleven. The suspected killer, a repeat offender named Robert Cameron, was never arrested, leaving Lianne’s case cold.

Now twenty-one and living alone for the first time, Evie is obsessively drawn to finding out what really happened to Lianne. She leans on another childhood friend, David Patton, for help—but every clue they uncover seems to lead to an unimaginable conclusion. As she gets closer and closer to the truth, Evie becomes convinced that the killer is still at large—and that he’s coming back for her.

Judgment: The ‘The Devil You Know” doesn’t sound as intriguing as last weeks so its gone!

divider12

2.

Title/Author: The Day I Shot Cupid: Hello, My Name Is Jennifer Love Hewitt and I’m a Love-aholic by Jennifer Love Hewitt

Date Added: Apr 28, 2016

Synopsis: For any woman who has ever bought a self-help book and wondered why she bothered. (P.S. Now that I know he’s just not that into me, where do I go from there? Yeah, thanks for that advice.)

Jennifer Love Hewitt is a self-proclaimed “love-aholic” and hopeless romantic (her middle name is Love, after all!). She has been lucky and unlucky in love, and lived to tell–and she’s done it all in the spotlight. Much has been written about her love life–some true, most made up to sell magazines. Now Hewitt shares the real story of what she’s learned navigating the dangerous dating waters.

In The Day I Shot Cupid, Hewitt offers her hard-won wisdom and tells us how to embrace love with both feet on the ground. First, we have to shoot Cupid. We have to believe that happily-ever-after is hard work–it’s not all flowers and symphonies and floating hearts.

Wise and wry and refreshingly honest, Hewitt talks about how to pick the right guy and how to know when to let the wrong ones go free, and she offers some surprising truths about the opposite sex.

From twenty things to do after a breakup, to ten things to do before a date, to the perils of text flirting (Note: You are waiting. By the phone. For his response.), Hewitt uses stories and dating secrets to illustrate the idiotic, romantic, crazy, depressing, hilarious, awkward, glorious moments we all experience in relationships. Funny, quirky, and empowering, The Day I Shot Cupid deserves a place on every woman’s nightstand, bookshelf, or coffee table, or tucked inside her oversized designer handbag.

Judgment: Where did this even come from?!!! I did not know she even wrote a book!! As much as I love Jennifer Love Hewitt, I’m going to have to turf this book. Sorry!!

divider12

3.

Title/Author: How I Stole Her Husband by Liz Ireland

Date Added: Apr 28, 2016

Synopsis: Once upon a time, Alison Bell was a Dallas debutante good girl who always followed the rules. Then her dad’s business went bust, her mom ran off with a jetsetter, and her high school boyfriend, Spence, was stolen just before prom by her arch-nemesis, Pepper McClintock. Ten years later, the good girl routine is so tired. In debt up to her ears, dropped by all her rich friends, Alison is hovering in the vicinity of rock-bottom, living for free outdoor concerts and two-for-one hamburger coupons. What she needs is a change. Then she sees her chance for redemption: a job as a live-in nanny for a Mr. & Mrs. Smith in New York City. Goodbye to humiliation, failure, and poverty; hello to… Pepper McClintock? Conniving, fake, boyfriend-stealing Pepper McClintock? With the kind of horrifying clarity usually reserved for trying on bikinis under fluorescent lighting, it comes to Alison: her new boss is none other than Mrs. Spence Smith–That Spence–and Alison is going to be working for the enemy and her dreamy husband. Now, caught up in the rarefied world of Park avenue nannies, New York tabloids, Barney’s bags, and delicious dish on the rich and famous, Alison is learning a few new rules of survival. Rule number one? It’s very simple: Sometimes, you just have to take what you want.

Judgment: I’m on the fence with this one. I might turf it and if it pops up again then it was meant to be haha.

divider12

4.

Title/Author: Suburbanistas by Pamela Redmond Satran

Date Added: Apr 28, 2016

Synopsis:
From the acclaimed author of Younger and Babes in Captivity,a funny and moving novel about friendship, fame, and the fight for one suburb’s future!

Greetings from New Jersey

Stella Powers is an A-list movie star who has just landed an Oscar-worthy role and a hot new rock-star husband when her mother’s death brings her world tumbling down. Floundering as her life becomes one tabloid horror after another, Stella finds herself stuck in the New Jersey suburb she fled twenty years ago. But Homewood is no longer the sleepy town she remembers: housing prices are skyrocketing and glitzy new stores — and people — are moving in. To Stella and her young daughter, this is good news.

Wish you weren’t here.

The bad news: Stella’s childhood best friend, Mary Jean, who married Stella’s old boyfriend and raised four kids in Homewood, can no longer afford to live there. Mary Jean is determined to wrest back the town but needs Stella on her side. The stakes for both women are high, but how can these old friends reconnect after so much time has passed? Or more importantly, how can they not?

Judgment: Go. While it sounds like a good read, its just not a book I’m interested in anymore.

divider12

5.

Title/Author: Pretty Girls by Karin Slaughter

Date Added: Apr 28, 2016

SynopsisSisters. Strangers. Survivors.

More than twenty years ago, Claire and Lydia’s teenaged sister Julia vanished without a trace. The two women have not spoken since, and now their lives could not be more different. Claire is the glamorous trophy wife of an Atlanta millionaire. Lydia, a single mother, dates an ex-con and struggles to make ends meet. But neither has recovered from the horror and heartbreak of their shared loss—a devastating wound that’s cruelly ripped open when Claire’s husband is killed.

The disappearance of a teenage girl and the murder of a middle-aged man, almost a quarter-century apart: what could connect them? Forming a wary truce, the surviving sisters look to the past to find the truth, unearthing the secrets that destroyed their family all those years ago . . . and uncovering the possibility of redemption, and revenge, where they least expect it.

Judgment: I have this one sitting on my bookshelf, so keep.

divider12
I seriously need to stop adding books!! It’s an addiction! Haha
Have you read any of these books? Thoughts?
What is you Goodreads TBR shelf looking like?

 

edelweiss-and-netgalley-books-3

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Down the TBR Hole #7

  1. I do this regularly and often just can’t get myself to take a book off my tbr list, it feels like I should at least give it a chance, hehe! I loved Pretty Girls, btw! But it’s very dark…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha I know how you feel!! But the rate I keep adding books I have to be ruthless and get rid of some 😂😭 breaks my heart a little lol.
      I have heard good things about Pretty Girls, glad you enjoyed it 😊 I’ll have to get around to reading it soon 💕

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s